Certification and Accreditation

The DAA Group offers three streams of certification/accreditation:

  • Ministry of Health Certification

  • DAA Group Certification

  • EQuIP Accreditation 

See the below table for further information on these three streams.


Government Compliance

(Ministry of Health Certification Audit)

Standards for assessment include:

  • NZS 8134:2008 Health and Disability Services Standards, incorporating:

    • NZS 8134.1:2008 Health and Disability Services (Core) Standards

    • NZS 8134.2:2008 Health and Disability Services (Restraint Minimisation and Safe Practice) Standards

    • NZS 8134.3:2008 Health and Disability Services (Infection Prevention and Control) Standards

Contract audits are undertaken for many sectors in conjunction with the Health and Disability Service Standard.

Certification Audit Standards

Standards for assessment include:

  • AS/NZS ISO 9001:2015 Quality Management Systems requirements (non accredited)

  • NZS 8158:2012 Home and Community Support Sector Standards

  • NZS 8151:2015 Urgent Care Standard

  • NZS 8164:2005 Day-Stay Surgery and Procedures Standard

  • NZS 8156:2008 Ambulance Service Sector Standard

  • NZS 8171:2005 Allied Health Services Sector Standard

  • NZS 8165:2005 Rooms/Office Based Surgery and Procedures Standard

  • NZS 8134:2008 Health and Disability Services Standards (for non MoH certificated services)

  • Retirement Villages Code of Practice

  • The ACC Requirements for Physiotherapy and Hand Therapy Services December 2018

  • Dementia Friendly Recognition Programme

EQuIP Accreditation

Standards for accreditation:

  • EQuIP Full

  • EQuIP Corporate

  • EQuIP for Day Hospitals

Further information on Standards

If you are not sure which certifications or accreditations are applicable for your organisation, you are welcome to contact us. We are happy to help you make the right choice. You can also view the industry specific pages which can help guide you.

Standards for each of the above are available from Standards New Zealand. Standards New Zealand produces a range of guidelines and workbooks to help identify risk, quality management improvements and safety issues. Contact Standards New Zealand on 0800 735 656, or email